up to  £50  OFFERED!
Get the bonus!
up to  £30  OFFERED!
New customers only | Commercial content | 18+ age limit | T&Cs apply
Get the BEST BET365 bonus now   CLICK HERE !

EFL Cup Betting Tips

Tips 1X2

02:45 PM
Aston Villa
1 N 2
01/28 02:45 PM
Aston Villa
1 N 2
02:45 PM
Manchester City
1 N 2
Manchester United
01/29 02:45 PM
Manchester City
Manchester United
1 N 2

Manchester City have dominated English football over the past couple of seasons. 2019/20 sees them attempting to win the EFL Cup for the third season in a row. Other Premier League clubs and those from the Championship, League One and League Two will be doing their best to ensure that doesn't happen.

This is considered the secondary cup competition in English football. It doesn't have the long history of the FA Cup having not been launched until 1960. It's still an important trophy to win though with a Wembley final and a place in the Europa League for the winners. How does it differ from the FA Cup?  Well, this is the English Football League Cup (currently sponsored by Carabao) and is contested between the 91 teams in the Premier League and English Football League. It was 92 until the sad demise of Bury FC. There are no non-league teams in this competition unlike in the FA Cup. The current holders of the trophy are Manchester City who beat Chelsea on penalties in last season's final. That was City's second win in a row and not since Liverpool in 1984 has a club won this cup in three consecutive seasons. Can City equal that record this season?

man-c-efl cup-winners

Go to Bet365 to  see all the latest EFL Cup odds

Who will Win the EFL Cup?

  • Manchester City - 11/10
  • Liverpool - 4/1
  • Manchester United - 9/2
  • Leicester City - 9/1
  • Everton - 12/1
  • Manchester United - 10/1
  • Aston Villa - 25/1
  • Oxford United - 250/1
  • Colchester United - 250/1

Head over to William Hill for all the EFL Cup betting news

Dates for your Diary

  • Quarter-Finals – week commencing 16 December 2019
  • Semi-Finals First Leg – week commencing 6 January 2020
  • Semi-Finals Second Leg – week commencing 27 January 2020
  • EFL Cup Final - Sunday 1 March 2020

All the Latest EFL Cup Odds are at Bet365


Liverpool beat Arsenal in Fourth Round Thriller

The quarter finals took place on October 29/30 and didn't see any major shocks. There were some great games though, none more so that the Liverpool v Arsenal clash at Anfield. Most of the top stars may have been missing but the game ended up being a goal feast. Liverpool took an early lead but found themselves 3-1 down after 36 minutes. By the 54th minute it was 4-2 to the Gunners but goals from Oxade-Chamberlain and Origi levelled the scores with 28 minutes remaining. Eight minutes later Willcock gave Arsenal a 5-4 lead but in the 94th minute, Origii made it 5-5. The game went to a penalty shoot-out and it was Liverpool who won that 5-4 to reach the last eight.

The other big Premier League battle saw Manchester United get their second win of the season against Chelsea. They won 2-1 with Marcus Rashford scoring both of their goals. The rest of the ties saw wins for cup holders Manchester City, Everton, Aston Villa and Leicester City. League One Oxford United and League Two Colchester United completed the quarter-final line-up.

Quarter Final Draw

Aston Villa v Liverpool

Manchester United v Colchester United

Oxford United v Manchester City 

Everton v Leicester City

The first three ties are due to take place on Tuesday 17th December and the Everton game the following night. However, there are problems for Liverpool due to their FIFA World Club Championship commitments. A date for that game is yet to be confirmed.

Choose your third round winners at Bet365

Who are the Recent Winners of the EFL Cup?

It has to be remembered that clubs don’t always put a great deal of emphasis on the EFL Cup. They don’t do it for the FA Cup, so what hope is there for this competition. It’s a good chance to blood youngsters and give fringe players some time on the pitch.

That being said, you have to note that the top sides in the Premier League have very strong squads. They can play ‘reserve’ sides and still have plenty of internationals in their starting line-up with top players on the bench. The lure of a place in the Europa League is important, though most of the clubs winning this competition end up in the Champions League. That leads to grateful sides in the Premier League earning European places even if not finishing in the top six. 

In the last 15 seasons, the EFL Cup has been dominated by the top six teams in the Premier League. Only Swansea City and Birmingham City have prevented the trophy being won by either Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspur and Chelsea.  Clubs do tend to play stronger sides as the chance to win the trophy becomes higher. EFL Cup winner celebrations have been taking place a fair bit in Manchester in recent years. Manchester City have won the trophy four times in the last six seasons with one triumph for Manchester United and the other season seeing Chelsea win the cup.

Throughout the season, our team of experts will give you their views on the EFL Cup. Hopefully, their analyzing of the cup games will help give you some winners in the coming months as the top teams in the country bid to win this trophy.

Bet on the EFL Cup at Bet365

The Contenders

City Chasing a Hat-Trick

Manchester City won this cup last year on their way to a domestic treble. They had a few struggles on the way, including having to go to a penalty shoot-out against Leicester City and against Chelsea in the final. Pep Guardiola rests plenty of players but the squad at his disposal is so strong, City still manage to dominate this competition. Four wins in six years could easily become five in seven this season.

All the Latest EFL Cup Odds are at Bet365

Leicester City in Great Form

Leicester City have made an impressive start to the new season. They are third in the table and although unlikely to be champions, a cup win can’t be ruled out. Leicester play at Everton in the quarter finals but have shown good form on their travels of late. Everton are in poor form, so Leicester look a good bet to reach the semi-finals at least.

Check out the up to date EFL Cup odds at William Hill

United Looking Good in the EFL Cup


It's not been a good Premier League season for Manchester United but they are in a good position in the EFL Cup. After struggling to get past Rochdale in Round three, they won at Chelsea in the last sixteen. With a home draw against League Two club Colchester United in the quarter finals and a two-legged tie in the last four, United could well make it all the way to Wembley.

Back Manchester United to win the EFL Cup at Bet365


Other bets

Show also
01/26 15:00
Lille Osc PSG
01/27 15:00
Bournemouth Arsenal
01/28 14:45
AC Milan Turin